/England win Womens Six Nations title

England win Womens Six Nations title

Emily Scarratt scores a try for England
Emily Scarratt’s try in the win over France in February was crucial to England’s title success

England have won the 2020 Women’s Six Nations with one game to play after France failed to beat Scotland.

France needed to win their final two games to stand any chance of catching England but conceded a late converted try to draw 13-13 with Scotland.

England, who last played in March when they thrashed Wales 66-7, have won all four of their games and lead the disrupted championship by six points.

They can complete back-to-back Grand Slams if they win in Italy next Sunday.

Women's Six Nations table

England probably expected their title wait to go to the rearranged final weekend given Scotland, who have not beaten France in the Six Nations since 2010, trailed by 10 points in the second half.

But Scotland struck back after France had to continue with 14 players after using all their replacements and then losing a player to injury.

Debutant wing Rachel Shankland scored a try in the 73rd-minute and then Helen Nelson kicked the conversion from close to the touchline to tie the match.

Defending champions England started their campaign on 2 February with a narrow 19-13 win over France in Pau and then outclassed Scotland 53-0 and Ireland 27-0 before securing the Triple Crown with victory over Wales.

The championship then came to halt because of the coronavirus pandemic, with the revised schedule only being confirmed in August.

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Original Source